I am on vacation for all of August <insert happy dance here>.  This is one big reason why I want to start my gluten-free trial then because I will have the time to focus on it and hopefully “perfect” some of it before I am back at work.

I have also, for several months now, been desiring a daily yoga practice.  I gave it a bit of a go a few months back but fully fell off the wagon.  For one, I was doing it once Z went to bed but hadn’t fallen asleep yet so there were frequent interruptions.  Secondly, I was really frustrated that some of my fat was getting in the way of the asanas (I could tell my muscles, etc were willing to go farther if my stomach fat wasn’t blocking the way).  This made me struggle with the work I have done with accepting my body the past couple of years.  It was difficult to also accept that I also wanted to be more comfortable in asanas and that losing a bit of size appeared to be part of the answer.

I’m feeling pretty much over that now.  #1 I need to work on letting go of ego (“yes, a smaller version of me was able to do this pose in a different way but that’s not the current me”) and #2 Just because I have accepted my body where it is now does not mean I am breaking some cardinal rule for wanting it to be a bit different to fulfill a dream (daily yoga/growing in my yoga practice).  This does not mean I have to diet obsess, hate my body, desire to be some super small size, etc…  It just means I have goals regarding yoga and it’s OK to want my body to shrink and strengthen a bit to reach those goals.

I’m not actively dieting and do not plan to diet.  Diets and me do not get along (which I talked about a bit over at my old blog).

Anyway (hello rambling rambles!), I would also like to get into a daily yoga habit starting next month.  I am going to figure out when the best time is (which may very well be when Z is up and about – either joining me or doing her own thing).  I’ve done classes in the past (not ideal right now for various reasons) and several DVDs.  But I am thinking this time of just putting on some music and using a book to guide me.  I ordered this book today and am so excited for its arrival.  I have found doing my own yoga routine to be difficult – so this is an area I want to work on.  I’d like to just throw down my mat whenever and wherever and be able to lead myself through a series of asanas on my own.

Ah, goals.  Good stuff.

