Snow Truffles

Snow Truffles

While hanging out with 3 of my good mommy friends the other day (one is gluten/dairy/sugar-free, the other gluten/sugar-free, and the third is sugar-free only) we were discussing the truffle recipe I made and had shared with them (the recipe, not the actual goods).  One friend suggested that they could be rolled in shredded coconut as well and voila, Snow Truffles were born!

I made these last night with Z.  She helped put the ingredients into the food processor.  Then she got to watch her inept-in-the-kitchen mother deal with a huge cooking boo-boo.  Silly me did not remove the seeds from the date first! <insert head slap here>

So I ended up removing the entire mixture and going throw it very slowly, identifying the seeds vs the large walnut bits.  Quite the chore.  But, when all was said and done, it was worth it.  The Snow Truffles aren’t quite as rich as the regular ones but still very delicious.  They slightly remind me of those chocolate donuts covered in coconut.  Slightly. ;)

The original truffles recipe can be found here.  The only difference is that instead of the 1/3 cocoa for rolling I used just over 1/2 cup shredded coconut for the rolling.

